If that hadn’t happened…

We all have that particular day that if that day was to be magically removed, our lives will be completely different. Let me tell you about my day…

It was on the 23rd of September 2012, the day my life changed forever, the day I got raped. The funny thing I like saying about that day is: “that was the best day of my life” and people don’t get the entire picture of why I say so. They think I’m absurd, they say that it was supposed to be the worst day and of cause it was but as time went on I realized it was a blessing in disguise.

The month before, specifically on the 4th of August I met a wonderful young man by the name of Andani who changed my perspective on life. And when I told him what had happened he felt awful, and told me to express myself or go see a counselor. I didn’t go to see the counselor but i did the one thing I knew would make me feel over the top. I wrote. I expressed every emotion that was in me clearly and vividly. The feedback I got from him was shocking, he actually loved it and said I must just continue doing what I was doing. And I did, and never looked back since that day.

So you see, If i hadn’t been raped, I wouldn’t have remained contact with the one person that encouraged me to continue writing, and guess what? you wouldn’t be reading this…

Leave a Reply

